The Pan American Child Congress is one of the three organs of the IIN (along with the Directing Council and the Direction General), its objective is to promote the exchange of experiences and knowledge among member states of the inter-American system.

Since 1916, Pan American Congresses have been forums for dialogue, reflection, and communication, which have revealed the different levels achieved by the countries of the Americas in developing policies towards children and adolescents.

They also constitute a political and technical event, not only because of the exchange of information, experiences, and knowledge, but also because of the opportunity to analyze the policies implemented by the different governments of the OAS member states, as well as their successes and the challenges still confronted by these policies related to children and adolescents in the Americas.

Participants include Ministers, State Secretaries, and other high-level government authorities specializing in matters related to childhood and adolescence. They have the character of Inter-American Specialized Conferences when they are held by resolution of the OAS General Assembly or of the Consultative Meeting of Ministers of Foreign Affairs.

• XXII Congress (Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, 2019)
• XXI Congress (Brasilia, Brasil, 2014)
• XX Congress (Lima-Perú, 2009)
• XIX Congress (México, 2004)
• XVIII Congress (Argentina,1999)
• XVII Congress (Costa Rica,1993)
• XVI Congress (U.S.A,1984)
• XV Congress (Uruguay,1977)
• XIV Congress (Chile,1973)
• XIII Congress (Ecuador,1968)
• XII Congress (Argentina,1963)
• XI Congress (Colombia,1959)
• X Congress (Panamá,1955)
• IX Congress (Venezuela,1948)
• VIII Congress (U.S.A,1942)
• VII Congress (México, 1935)
• VI Congress (Perú,1930)
• V Congress (Cuba,1927)
• IV Congress (Chile,1924)
• III Congress (Brasil,1922)
• II Congress (Uruguay,1919)
• I Congress (Argentina, 1916)